Christians are so f**king annoying!

What started out as a chat about physics with a mate turned into a Christian trying to educate me about “faith”, OMFG!

I’d like to point out at the start that I didn’t mention god, she did.  I was happily talking about Hawking, the Big Bang, etc. and she decides to insert her god.  When it was clear that she was going to hammer home her point my mate took the wise course of action by exiting the room (I wish I had joined him).

As with all conversations of this kind, it was a random mix of every logical fallacy known to man:

  • Leading questions: “Who created everything?”  As if there was a “who” or that everything needed to be created.
  • Argument from ignorance: I can’t explain how we got here, therefore she must be right.  She demands levels of evidence for evolution, which she can’t provide for her belief in creationism.  She tries to poke holes in evolution, because she can’t provide any positive evidence for her beliefs.
  • It’s “only a theory”: Apparently science knows nothing because it only has “theories”.  I asked if she has been vaccinated, she answered “yes”.  Her comeback was, “vaccination is science and evolution isn’t”.  As if she is the authority on what classifies as science, and what doesn’t.
  • Only humans can be moral and caring: A quick search on YouTube can prove that false.

The worst part was when another Christian overheard our conversation and decided to join in.  The only thing worse than being subjected to this ignorant bullshit, is having it coming at you from multiple directions.  Such as today when I had to restrain myself because I was at work, and he was a customer.  (I’m all for being open about my beliefs, and I’ll happily express my opinion to anyone, but not if I think it could get me into trouble with my boss.)

It’s perfectly ok if you’re a member of the main religion to spread your hateful, discriminatory beliefs, even at work, because the majority share you beliefs.  And when you’re pushing your opinions on others, people like me (Atheist), we must restrain ourselves so we don’t get into trouble, because we’re “discriminating against their religious beliefs”.  I am not!  You tell me something stupid, and I simply reply that I don’t agree.  They persist when I’d much rather they left me alone.  I wonder what would happen if I take up my grievance with HR?  Do you think they’d take me seriously?

She gave me a great example of how religion can corrupt your mind, and your sense of morality.  She tried to explain to me that God loves everyone, even her dad who isn’t a proper Christian like she is.  To find out how much her God loves her dad I asked what was going to happen to him after he dies.  She said she didn’t know.  I asked if he was going to hell…she refused to answer.  She said that she believes that God will do what’s best.  “Sending your dad to hell is for the best?” I asked.  I could see that she desperately wanted to switch topics, but I kept pushing the questions.  I could see her physically squirming in her seat.  I never did get an answer to that question.  Or the question “Is it moral for your God to allow him to go to hell?”  When the second Christian joined in (the customer), I felt it was best to let it go.

After that the argument turned to science, which I talked about in a previous post.

 

Note:  These people are only annoying when they’re being Christian.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Science doesn’t know anything! | Belfast Atheist - August 22, 2011

Leave a Reply

